Ayurveda 101

Ayurveda, “the science of life,” is a centuries-old holistic approach to health and wellness. This healing science from India has been practiced for over 5,000 years by millions of individuals to keep and bring the body back to optimal health.


Ayurveda finds its origins in the Vedas, a large body of texts originating in ancient India. The concept of the Universe is made of five elements (space, air, fire, water and earth), which combine into three doshas, bodily humors that make up one’s constitution. They are Vata, Pitta, and Kapha. These three body types create every individual’s unique constitution and all of us have elements of each. The central concept of Ayurvedic medicine is the theory that health exists when there is a balance between Vata, Pitta and Kapha.

How do you determine your type?

Most Ayurveda books and websites will offer questionnaires that can be used to determine your mind/body constitution. Otherwise, you can always consult an ayurvedic practitioner who will take the time to analyse you. Once you know your dosha type, you should try to follow a diet and lifestyle routine that fits your mind/body constitution.

For example, Vata types are advised to get enough rest and choose foods that are warm, cooked, nourishing, and easy to digest like sweet berries, fruits, small beans, rice, and nuts. Lighter exercise is recommended such as a more meditative yoga, Tai chi, Qi gong, walking, and swimming.

Pitta types must choose to eat fresh vegetables and fruits that are watery and sweet, like cherries, mangoes, cucumbers, watermelon and avocado. They must also cultivate the virtues of honesty, morality, kindness, generosity and self-control.

As for Kapha types, it is important for them to be active on a daily basis because they are prone to sluggishness, depression, and being overweight. They have to choose foods that are light, warm, and spicy. Tea with dried ginger and lemon is a great drink for Kaphas.


Combining Yoga & Ayurveda

The goals of Yoga and Ayurveda are the same: Dharma, Artha, Kama and Moksha.  Dharma means righteous living. Artha means prosperity and security. Kama means fulfillment of desire or pleasure. Moksha means emancipation and liberation.

In order to achieve all four goals, a person must have a healthy body, mind, prana, and consciousness. These can be achieved by combining Ayurveda and Yoga. Yoga heals through Asana, Pranayama and meditation. Ayurveda heals through a detox program, rejuvenation, herbs, proper diet and lifestyle. That is why a Yogi who doesn’t know Ayurveda, he is a half Yogi and and an Ayurvedic practitioner who doesn’t know yoga, is a half practitioner. Ayurveda and Yoga go hand in hand, that is why our Wellness Centre is offering Ayuverdic Services as well. For more information, feel free to drop by at our studio.

233 Dunbar Ave. suite #300

Mont-Royal/Montreal (Quebec)

H3P 2H4

Phone: (514) 824-4285 or (514) 759-3993